What’s your Mantra?

As time gets closer to my marathon I begin to prepare mentally. When running for hours without music I need to keep a positive attitude and keep all self talk positive. I have come across different sayings or phrases that grab my attention. I am writing some of these down in a small piece of paper and carrying them with me through my run. If at any point I start to doubt myself or negative thoughts come to mind, I will have these handy to get me back in track. Hope it works!!

On a quick note; I’m off to Key Largo this weekend for a half marahon. I will report on how it goes…

Now here are some mantras. Please share any you may know!

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Confucius

“Anyone can run 20 miles. It’s the next 6 that count.” – Barry Magee

“The will to win is not nearly as important as the will to prepare.” – Juma Ikangaa

“I was pushed by myself because I have my own rule, and that is that every day I run faster and try harder.” – Wilson Kipketer

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling but in rising every time we fall.” – Confucius

“Running is the greatest metaphor for life, because you get out of it what you put into it.” – Oprah Winfrey

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” – John Bingham

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss it you will land among the stars.” – Les Brown

“No one ever drowned in sweat.” – unknow

“There’s no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.” – Bill Bowerman

“He who is not courages enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.” – Muhammad Ali

One thought on “What’s your Mantra?

Leave a Reply

