Sunday Bike Ride

Last week I found the courage to sign up with a triathlon group. This group has different workouts throughout the week and anyone is welcome to go as they please. Wether it is to swim, bike or run. In my case I was looking for a group to ride bike with. I already swim 2-3 times a week at my local gym. I run on my own or at boot camp class but I had no one to ride bike with. Because I’m too scared to go out on my own, the bike part of my triathlon was suffering.

My first opportunity to join this group was today. I was so nervous that I had thought about it since a week ago. I have never ridden further than 20 miles on the bike and I knew this group would go for more. Well, Sunday morning came and I thought of any excuse possible for me not to go. I knew that if I didn’t go I would feel terribly guilty and would never get over my fear of riding my bike out on the street.

I got it together and got ready. Praying on my way to meet up with the group! Hahaha… Those who ride bike know how nasty Miami drivers are! I arrived at the meeting place and the girls from the group I would be riding with were expecting me. Very friendly people who made me feel more comfortable. We started out in Pinecrest Gardens and rode south of Black Point marina and back. For a total of about 30 miles.

I was so proud of myself for having done that ride that I actually got home and did a “happy dance”. I will continue to ride every Sunday and hopefully get better and most important feel more comfortable on the bike when riding along with cars.

“Sometimes fear and dreams collide.”

20110501-035257.jpg

3 thoughts on “Sunday Bike Ride

Leave a Reply

