My Kind of Oatmeal!

I was never a big fan of cereal so I would only have it once in a while. What I was always a BIG fan of was Oatmeal. I would wake up just thinking about that warm bowl of tasty oatmeal to get my day started. And then….(as you may know) my eating habits have changed a bit and I had to say goodbye to oatmeal. When I think about it I’m rather surprised that I don’t miss it as much as I thought I would. Just like with coffee, I think that I don’t miss the real food but the feelings that go with it. Yes, the feelings… You know, when you eat something you enjoy and you all of a sudden have a smile on your face without knowing. Now in retrospect I think I just miss having something warm in my hands and filling to my belly. Specially on that one night a year that Miami weather gets to 40 degrees. So what to do?? I have my mango green tea handy and this recipe below for when my mood craves something warm.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup almonds pulverized
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk or coconut milk, plus more to taste
Fresh berries

Place all dry ingredients in a bowl and add 1/4 cup milk. Microwave for a minute or until warm. Take out and mix, add more milk to your liking.

Add in the fresh fruit. Eat! 🙂

I have seen other variations of this so feel free to experiment. Others like to add in half a banana mashed into the mixture and/or add another 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. Try different options until you get the consistency and taste you wish.

4 thoughts on “My Kind of Oatmeal!

  1. Oh my god…I had this this morning….minus the bannana=my new addiction!! I also added a scoop of vanilla whey protein and a 1/4 tsp of flaxseeds! Thanks K!!!!!

  2. I have been trying to go a bit more grain free (not totally but just reduce) and I am an oatmeal addict. It’s the one thing I can’t seem to give up…def trying this with trader joe’s almond meal!

Leave a Reply

