Chi Chi Chi Chia!

Ha! I can’t say the name without thinking of that silly commercial of the Chia pet! And yes, it’s the same seed I’m about to tell you about. In my search of trying to include more fiber in my diet, I decided to give this natural seed a try.

Chia seeds are tiny dark seeds that are “an excellent source of dense nutrition with their healthy omega oils, easily digestible protein, and antioxidants. In fact, chia is so high in essential fatty acids that it contains eight times more omega-3s than salmon, gram for gram. Also full of dietary fiber, vitamins, and minerals (especially calcium and iron), chia has much in common with flaxseed, with the distinct advantage that its natural antioxidants make it’s delicate healthy fats more nutritionally stable. Research has linked this valuable food as a being beneficial for many health issues, including diabetes, hypoglycemia, celiac disease, and lowering cholesterol”.

I put them in almond milk yogurt or in my gluten-free oatmeal. I can’t barely taste them but it adds a crunchiness to my food.

I also ran into Hemp seeds and Maca powder. I have included them all in my diet having Maca on a daily basis. My advise is to do your own research! Here’s the page for the products I bought. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

