Baked Oatmeal

A few months ago my Paleo eating lifestyle changed a bit due to a change in training. Food is our fuel and should always be tweaked to help you perform your best. As I increase endurance training for my upcoming triathlon races, I’ve had to make a few adjustments to my eating. One major change is including simple carbs into my diet. That doesn’t mean I’m now eating a bowl of pasta daily. It just means that I include small portions a few times a week according to training. In my quest to do that and still keep it healthy I found this recipe online and with a few changes I made it just to my liking…

Ingredients

2 medium ripe bananas, (the riper the better) sliced into 1/2″ pieces
1 1/2 cup raspberries (use any other fruit you wish)
1/4 cup honey (or agave)
1 cup uncooked quick oats
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
1 cup almond milk
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp chia seeds
1 scoop of protein (optional)

20120913-213849.jpg

Method

Preheat the oven to 375° F. Lightly oil baking dish. I used coconut oil; set aside.

Arrange the banana slices in a single layer on the bottom of the dish. Sprinkle half of the raspberries over the bananas, 1/4 tsp of the cinnamon, 1 tbsp of the honey and cover with foil. Bake 15 minutes, until the bananas get soft.

20120913-213943.jpg

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the oats, chia seeds, baking powder, remaining cinnamon, and salt; stir together.
20120914-071949.jpg

In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining honey, milk, egg, and vanilla extract.
Remove the bananas from the oven, then pour the oat mixture over the bananas and raspberries.

Pour the milk mixture over the oats, making sure to distribute the mixture as evenly as possible over the oats. Sprinkle the remaining raspberries on top.

20120913-214216.jpg

Bake the oatmeal for about 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and the oatmeal has set.

20120913-214302.jpg

The best part is that you can make this and save it for the next couple of days and have breakfast ready to go!

3 thoughts on “Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

