Protein Jello

Having a sweet tooth inspires me to look for different ways to have some sort of treat without deviating too far from my eating habits. So after getting some ideas from an online search I decided to try this…

20130327-171131.jpg

What is it you ask? Sugar free jello with whey protein powder. I chose strawberry and banana flavor but feel free to experiment with different ones. All you have to do is follow directions on the jello box and at the end add your protein powder. Here I mixed 2 scoops of protein powder with 1 packet of jello but that may be too much and left it tasting a bit too concentrated. Start off by mixing 1 packet of jello with 1 scoop of protein.

20130327-171237.jpg

You can pair this with fruit or in my case I added some Greek yogurt. It reminded me that as a kid I would mix my jello with ice cream…. Those were the good old days. 😉

20130327-171624.jpg

4 thoughts on “Protein Jello

  1. I might try this, but I would like to find a way around using the jello mix. My MIL loves making a ton of Jello for our son, but when she started making it with so much gelatin (she added extra knox blox) that the gelatin was going right through him, I decided no more gelatin. I hadn’t thought of using protein powder! I have Jay Robb’s vanilla egg white protein powder that I should use up.
    Maybe I could use applesauce and knox blox for the jello substitute and add the protein powder?
    Anyway, thank you for the idea! 🙂

      • I think I will and let you know how it turns out. I went home for lunch today and I think I might try some ripe bananas blended with some thawed strawberries and add some applesauce for a bit more liquid. I am thinking the vanilla protein powder will go well with those flavors. I might add a little honey to the mix for a little sweetness.
        I just hope it doesn’t end up being a mess!

Leave a Reply

