Recipes

Mom’s Pumpkin Puree

I think this is one of my favorite side dishes my mom makes. As a child I was not sure what exactly this was but I loved it! Now that I enjoy some time in the kitchen I find myself asking mom about all the dishes I liked and I try to figure out a way to make them healthier for me to eat today.

Ingredients:

Half fresh Pumpkin
Grass-fed unsalted butter
Shredded parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cut the pumpkin in chunks and boil until soft. 15-20 minutes. Test with fork.

Mash the soft and peeled pumpkin with a fork. Add in a tablespoon of butter and mix well. Shred some parmesan cheese and mix again, making it into a nice smooth purée.

Place in oven safe dish and bake at 350 for about 35 minutes or until top is golden brown. Turn on the broil for the last 5 minutes to give it a nice golden brown color.

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Pumpkin Puree

    1. If you want to peel is before cooking you may need a knife because it can be kinda of tough for a peeler. I boiled it first and then peel if with a knife and it comes right off.

Leave a comment